Gluten-Free Coffee Capsules

Gluten-free coffee pods is a workhorse form coeliacs. If you want to enjoy this format at home, or if you are served it in a bar, you should look for the specialities or brands of gluten-free coffee capsules individually so that you don’t get frights or unpleasant surprises.

And since the matter is not as clear as we would like, we will try to shed some light on the current market situation for coffee capsules for coeliacs.

Are there any gluten-free coffee capsules? Of course, there are, but this statement needs to be clarified. First of all, it must be clear that coffee is gluten-free, as we explained in the article we just linked to above. Therefore, a capsule of black coffee, or espresso, without more will never have gluten in its composition unless it acquires it externally when in contact with other foods.

The problem, if we look for coffee pods for coeliacs, is that sometimes the single pods do not only contain coffee. When we enter additives and additives such as powdered milk, or aromas (caramel, hazelnut, cinnamon, chocolates ), then celiacs begin to have it difficult to know if they can take it or not.

And the thing is complicated because in the chains of manipulation where the single dose are manufactured, also other types of food are processed, which can leave traces (the famous “traces”) that are transmitted later to the capsules.

In short, if you drink a regular coffee, or a coffee in capsules but only (espresso, ristretto, lungo, americano), you can be sure that it does not contain gluten unless the drink or the capsules have been “contaminated” by having been in contact with other ingredients or preparations other than coffee (this is already impossible to know).

Or that some component of the manufacture of the capsule (not its contents), such as sealants or glues, to cite one example, contains gluten, and this can be transmitted to the coffee when it is brewed in the coffee machine.

But if you drink a coffee in capsules mixed with other aromas or ingredients, you can no longer be sure. We recommend that you look specifically at the label or indications of each brand or manufacturer. It is not possible to establish a pattern or a rule: the same variety – coffee with milk, for example – may contain gluten in one brand and be labelled “gluten-free” in another.

Ristora Dolce Gusto Compatible Coffee Capsules, Decaf Cappuccino, Lactose Free, Gluten Free
  • Ristora Coffee Capsules Compatible with Dolce Gusto, Decaffeinated Cappuccino, Lactose and Gluten Free

It is also worth remembering that products labelled “gluten-free” are only compulsory for those products that may contain gluten. In other words, products such as coffee or water, which do not contain gluten, do not have to be labelled “gluten-free” on the packaging.

Nescafé gluten-free capsules

We start with one of the most straightforward cases: that of the gluten-free Nespresso capsules. In this brand, as all the single-dose capsules in the official system are made of espresso or black coffee (without other ingredients or additives), we are not going to find gluten naturally unless it has been caught later during processing or packaging.

So by eliminating milk and chocolate from their preparations, users looking for gluten-free Nespresso coffee capsules have it somewhat easier.

Something similar happens with L’Or gluten-free capsules. Anything that is “just coffee” is an additional source of peace of mind for coeliacs.

Another very different thing is that we use manufacturers that are compatible with the Nespresso system but outside the brand’s official catalogue. Here we can already find aromas and ingredients in addition to coffee, which can no longer be guaranteed to be gluten-free.

Naturally, Nespresso does not take any notice of these cases, and as consumers, we have to go to the specific labelling of each package and each brand to check this.

Of course, infusion capsules, not just for Nespresso but for any system, are excluded from this research. By their very nature, they do not contain gluten, coffee, additives or anything else.

Gluten-free Marcilla capsules?

Marcilla is one of the best-known coffee firms with the largest market share among consumers. It manufactures capsules for all the large formats (Senseo, Tassimo, Nespresso and Dolce Gusto) and all the varieties imaginable.

So the guideline about gluten is the same as we have said before: if it is only black coffee capsules, the risk is minimal or non-existent (we must always leave the door open to the doubt of traces or “foreign contamination”).

But if we are talking about capsules of cut Marcilla coffee or with milk, like the ones we find in Tassimo’s or Senseo’s catalogues, then we must already investigate the labelling and the list of ingredients and allergens of each package.

In short: to find out if Marcilla coffee capsules have gluten, it depends on which coffee maker and which particular variety we are talking about.

The same applies to gluten-free Starbucks capsules as to Marcilla. If it’s only coffee varieties, there’s no problem. But this brand manufactures consumables for various systems. For example, for Dolce Gusto machines, we find types of cappuccinos or macchiatos with aromas, for which it is not possible to guarantee the absence of gluten or traces.

Starbucks White Cup Variety Pack by Nescafe Dolce Gusto Coffee Pods, 6 x 12 (72 Pods/36 Servings)
  • Starbucks coffee pods by Nescafe dolce gusto, with a variety of different roasts and blends from the Starbucks family
  • This special variety of pods has been selected to allow to try complete range of white cup coffees
  • Coffee pods compatible with Nescafe dolce gusto coffee machines
  • Specialty: natural
  • Number of items: 6.0

Dolce Gusto gluten-free capsules

When looking for Dolce Gusto gluten-free coffee capsules, we must first look at the official statement of the brand itself, which does not differ much from what we said at the beginning of this article. It reads as follows:

In general, coffee without aromas or other added ingredients (natural, decaffeinated, roasted, ground, soluble or in capsules) is naturally gluten-free. However, there are products that, due to their production process, may contain gluten or traces of gluten.

The indication of the presence of gluten in Dolce Gusto products is defined by current European legislation. If the coffee contains gluten, it will have this allergen duly indicated in the list of ingredients, in bold type. If you have any doubts, we advise you to carefully read the information included on the label of our products, including the list of ingredients and allergen.

https://www.dolce-gusto.co.uk/faqs

In short, it says what we already know: that coffee by itself is gluten-free, but if we “put it together” with other things, it can no longer be guaranteed. Therefore, it is the responsibility of the consumer to read carefully the labels of each variety or package he or she buys.

In the following gallery, you can see a selection of Dolce Gusto compatible capsules suitable for coeliacs, which do not contain gluten (or at least this is explicitly stated on the label). Remember that we focus above all on mixed preparations, almost always with milk, because black coffee capsules, by definition, are gluten-free.

And do Tassimo capsules have gluten?

In Tassimo’s specifications, we do not find any clear information about the absence of gluten, so we have to expect that they may have traced. When in doubt, it is better not to buy them or to decide on another system. We cannot guarantee 100% that Tassimo capsules are gluten-free.

The manufacturer officially refers us to the labelling of each package or of each specific variety that we want to buy. If you have any allergens, they will be indicated there.

The question of this brand is a little complicated because of the enormous variety of suppliers (Suchard, Milka, etc.) and the full range of non-coffee products in its catalogue: chocolates, cocoa, milk drinks.

Remember: to be sure about gluten-free coffee in capsules, always read the label and the list of ingredients on the package you buy, whatever the brand and speciality.

Lavazza Espresso Point gluten-free capsules

Lavazza’s capsules are also part of the pro-information campaign, and it is concerned with informing people which of its products are gluten-free.

As you can see, in some cases, they are the official ones, and in others, they are compatible with the Espresso Point system (which is one of the single-dose formats used by this Italian brand).

What we don’t like very much is that in some cases, Lavazza specifies “gluten-free” in varieties that naturally cannot have it, such as espressos. This information is hard of any value. What is valuable, for example, is to look at the gluten-free cappuccino capsules we find in the Officina Della Cialda brand.

General conclusions: Can I drink coffee capsules if I have a coeliac condition?

In general, if you are looking for coffee capsules for coeliacs, the recommendation is to choose systems or varieties that only contain coffee. Black, espresso, ristretto, americano but black coffee with nothing else. In this sense, any brand will provide you with a sufficient variety, but purely Italian formats such as Nespresso, Lavazza or Illy will take the lead.

If you already want to consume other varieties of coffee in gluten-free capsules, such as cappuccinos, lattes or flavoured coffees, you are going to have a harder time. Our recommendation is to avoid them unless you have no other choice because you will never find a 100% guarantee. Mostly because of the tracing thing.

IMPORTANT NOTE: All the information contained in this article is taken from official sources and the manufacturers themselves. It has no medical validity. Ultimately, it is always the responsibility of the consumer to ascertain by his means the exact composition of each product he will consume.